Click Here To Read "Rapid Roy's Ramblings!" Blog

Photo Gallery
Driver Profiles
Message Boards
Advertise With Us
Contact Us

Sign Up for the
Racing In Iowa Newsletter





Brett Moffitt To Drive #55 in Atlanta

By: Pete Pistone - @PPistone on January 27, 2015 | 11:15 A.M. EST

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Brett Moffitt will fill in for Brian Vickers in the Michael Waltrip Racing No. 55 entry at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Vickers will miss the first two races of the season as he recovers from a heart ailment and team owner Waltrip will drive his car in the season-opening Daytona 500.

Moffitt will take the wheel in the second race of the year at Atlanta before Vickers’ expected return the following week at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

“Obviously very excited to have the opportunity,” Moffitt said Tuesday on SiriusXM NASCAR Radio’s “The Morning Drive.” “Atlanta is a fun track and I’m looking forward to filling in for Brian and hopefully bringing the 55 car home with a good finish that day.”

Vickers had corrective heart surgery three months ago and has been granted a medical waiver by NASCAR, which would make him eligible for the Chase should he win a regular season race when he returns.

The short term plan to put Waltrip and Moffitt in the car as replacements is one the team feels positive about.

“It will be a little bit of a challenge getting the car ready for different drivers like Michael and Brett in the first two weeks of the season,” said crew chief Billy Scott on “The Morning Drive.” But we certainly think each of them give us a chance to be competitive in those races as we get ready for Brian’s return at Las Vegas.”

Moffitt drove the No. 66 Sprint Cup car last year with was an alliance between MWR and Jay Robinson Racing. He made seven starts with best finish a 22nd in his first race at Dover International. He also competed at Michigan, Bristol, Atlanta, Charlotte, Texas, and Homestead-Miami.

“He was the driver that everybody at Michael Waltrip Racing wanted to be in that car at Atlanta,” Waltrip. “They believe in his ability and we know how much he’s helped us in our testing and preparation in getting to the race track.

“Aaron’s is gonna reward him and Michael Waltrip Racing is going to reward him with the chance to drive a winning race car.”

News & Results
National Headlines


Hawkeye Downs Speedway 7/5/14
Ty Majeski and Dallas Chandler win two exciting races at the Coors Light Summer Shootout at Hawkeye Downs

Cedar County Raceway 5/3/14
Stormy Scott extends USMTS win streak to four with Tipton triumph

Independence Motor Speedway 5/3/14
Independence Motor Speedway Lives up to its saying: “Fast, Family, Fun.”


Local Archives


Performance Racing industry 2014

PRI 2014 12/08/14
PRI Epicenter Of New Racing Technology Comes To Indianapolis

PRI 2014 8/29/14
Powerful Race Industry Week Events Await Attending Buyers At PRI2014



2014 IMCA Super Nationals

IMCA 9/1/14
Monday Results

IMCA 9/2/14
Tuesday Results

IMCA 9/3/14
Wednesday Results

IMCA 9/4/14
Thursday Results

IMCA 9/5/14
Friday Results

IMCA 9/6/14
Saturday Results

NASCAR 5/18/14
Sam Hornish Jr. Finally Gets A Victory At Iowa Speedway

NASCAR 5/1/14
City Of Newton To Sponsor Iowa Speedway Race

WOO 4/26/14
Babb Earns First Illini 100 Victory In Front Of Hometown Crowd

NASCAR 3/8/14
Vote Wendell Scott For NASCAR Hall Of Fame 2015

IMCA 1/8/14
Stock Car Champion Ernie Derr Dies At 92!


National Archives



(For Track Contact Information Please Click On The Iowa TracksBox At Top Of Page And Select The Track You Are Looking For!)

Privacy Policy Site hosted, designed and maintained by: Roy Parker
Copyright ©1999 - 2014